Awarded to

Cub Scout Boomerang Badges

There are three Boomerang levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold. The Bronze Boomerang is the first part of the journey through the Cub Scout Award Scheme. If a Cub joins at around nine years of age they will probably start with the Silver Boomerang, in which the tasks are more challenging but build on the skills the Cub Scout has already learned. The Gold Boomerang is most suitable for Cub Scouts around 10 years of age.

To earn each of the Boomerang badges the Cub Scout must complete 10 out of 14 set tasks. Tasks 1-7 are compulsory, but the Cub can choose any three from the tasks numbered 8 to 14. The tasks can be completed in any order, except for number 7 (Promise and Law) which must be completed last and signed off by the Cub Scout Leader.

The 14 Boomerang badge tasks are:

1. Health and First Aid (Responsibility for Self)
2. Safety (Responsibility for Self)
3. Ropes (Outdoor Scouting)
4. Outdoor Scouting (Outdoor Scouting)
5. Our Cub Scout Traditions (Scouting Aims and Principles)
6. Symbols of Australia (Growing Awareness of Local Community)
7. Promise and Law (Values of Scouting)
8. Fitness (Pursuits and Interests & Responsibility for Self)
9. People and Cultures (Growing Awareness of Wider World)
10. Scientific Discovery (The World Around Us)
11. The Natural Environment (The World Around Us)
12. Self Expression (Creativity)
13. Handcraft (Creativity)
14. Your Community (Growing Awareness of Local Community)

Download the requirements for the Silver boomerang